Facts About Scouting

First Eagle Scout Medal
First Eagle Scout
Medal Awarded to
Arthur Eldred in 1912
For Every One Hundred Boys Who Join Scouting:
  • Four will become Eagle Scouts (a huge achievement and the highest Scout Rank - 2 million boys have reached Eagle in 100 years - less than 1% of the male population)
  • Rarely will one be brought before juvenile court...
  • Twelve will have their first contact with a church
  • One will enter the clergy
  • Eighteen will develop hobbies that will last through their entire adult life
  • Five will earn their church’s religious award
  • Eight will enter a vocation that was learned through the merit badge system
  • One will use his Scouting skills to save a life!
  • Seventeen will be future Scout volunteers

Famous Eagle Scouts

  • Hank Aaron - Baseball Player - Home Run King
    Hank Aaron
    Neil Armstrong - Astronaut - First Man on Moon
    Neil Armstrong
    Michael Bloomberg - Mayor of New York City
    Michael Bloomberg
    Arthur Eldred - First Eagle Scout
    Arthur R. Eldred
    Gerald R. Ford - U.S. President
    Gerald R. Ford
    Gary Locke - First Chinese-American Governor
    Gary Locke
    Hank Aaron - Baseball player, home run king - the Mobile Press Register quoted Hank as saying that the greatest positive influence in his life was his involvement in scouting
  • Gary L. Ackerman - U.S. Representative from NY
  • Bill Alexander - U.S. Representative from Arkansas
  • Lamar Alexander - Lawyer, Governor of Tennessee, Secretary of Education, presidential candidate
  • Neil Armstrong - astronaut, first man on moon, from Wapakoneta, OH
  • Willie Banks - Olympic & world record holding track star
  • Albert Belle - baseball player
  • Charles E. Bennett - U.S. Representative from Florida
  • William Bennett - Secretary of Education
  • Lloyd M. Bentsen, Jr. - Treasury Secretary & U.S. Representative from Texas
  • Michael Bloomberg - Mayor of New York City, founder of Bloomberg News
  • Bill Bradley - Pro basketball star and U.S. Senator from NJ
  • James Brady - Press Secretary to President Reagan
  • Stephen Breyer - US Supreme Court Justice
  • Milton A. Caniff - Comic strip artist "Steve Canyon"
  • Barber B. Conable - President, World Bank
  • John W. Creighton, Jr. - President & CEO of Weyerhaeuser Company
  • William E. Dannemeyer - U.S. Representative from Cal.
  • William Devries - M.D., transplanted first artificial heart
  • Michael Dukakis - Governor of Massachusetts, presidential candidate
  • LTC Aquilla James Dyess - WWII Marine & Medal of Honor recipient (deceased)
  • Arthur R. Eldred - First Eagle Scout
  • Daniel J. Evans - Senator and Governor of Washington
  • David Farabee - Texas State Representative
  • Robert Edward Femoyer - WWII Army Air Force Navigator & Medal of Honor recipient (deceased)
  • Rear Admiral Eugene B. Fluckey - WWII Submarine Commander & Medal of Honor recipient (deceased)
  • Thomas Foley - Speaker of the House and U.S. Representative from Washington
  • Gerald Ford - U.S. President (1st Eagle to be President) (deceased)
  • Steven Fossett - Flew solo nonstop around the world in a hot air balloon and in an ultralight airplane, won the Chicago to Mackinaw boat races, competed in the Iditarod dog race, and competed in several iron man triathlons, and among other things lived the Scouting mottos both Cub and Boy Scout by doing his best and being prepared (deceased)
  • Murphy J. (Mike) Foster - Governor of Louisiana
  • Robert M. Gates - Director of Central Intelligence (CIA) and Sec'y. of Defense
  • Richard A. Gephardt - U.S. Representative from Missouri, Minority Leader
  • Michael Kahn - stage director, Oscar winning film editor
  • William Henry Keeler - Roman Catholic Cardinal and Archbishop of Baltimore
  • Dr. Alfred Kinsey - insect biologist, human behavior researcher
  • John Koncak - basketball player
  • Sheldon Leonard - actor, director, producer, 3 time Emmy award winner
  • Steven W. Lindsey - Astronaut - He was the pilot for STS-95 when John Glenn returned to space as a Senator. He made Eagle in Troop 161 in Temple City, California.
  • Gary Locke, Governor of the State of Washington, the first Chinese-American Governor in the contiguous United States, and selected as a Distinguished Eagle Scout by NESA
  • James Lovell - Navy pilot and astronaut, President of National Eagle Scout Association. Flew on Gemini 7, 12 & Apollo 8, 13 At one time had seen more sunrises than any other human being
  • Guion Bluford Jr. - Colonel, United States Air Force, NASA astronaut
  • Richard Lugar - Senator from Indiana (presidential candidate 1996)
  • J. Willard Marriott, Jr. - President, Marriott Corp.
  • CDR William McCool, USN - Astronaut, Pilot of U.S. Space Shuttle Columbia
  • W. Walter Menninger - Physician, civil servant
  • Michael Moore - Author and filmmaker, nominated for an Oscar for "Bowling for Columbine"
  • Jim Mora - NFL football coach
  • Oswald "Ozzie" Nelson - actor
  • Sam Nunn - U.S. Senator from Georgia
  • Ellison Onizuka - Astronaut aboard the U.S. Space Shuttle Challenger (deceased)
  • Steve Oswald - Astronaut, Navy Rear Admiral
  • Mitchell Paige - walked 200 miles to enlist in Marines on his 18th birthday in 1936, retired as a Colonel, Medal of Honor. Presented his Eagle award in 2003 after it was verified that he'd not received it in 1936 because he'd joined the Marines. (deceased)
  • Francis J. Parater - nominated for Sainthood by Diocese of Richmond, VA. died at age 22 in 1920 in Rome, while at seminary.
  • H. Ross Perot - Self-made billionaire and presidential candidate
  • Rick Perry - Governor, State of Texas
  • J. J. Pickle - U.S. Representative from Texas, proudly displays his Eagle plaque inside his office
  • Samuel R. Pierce - Former Sec. Housing & Urban Development
  • Frederick Reines - Nobel Prize winner in Physics
  • Gary Rogers - Chairman and CEO of Dreyer's Ice Cream
  • Jim Rogers - CEO of Kampgrounds of America (KOA)
  • Mike Rowe - Star of "Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe" on the Discovery Channel
  • Donald Rumsfeld - Secretary of Defense
  • Harrison Salisbury - Pulitzer Prize winning author
  • James Sanderson - Vice Admiral, US Navy (Ret), Deputy Chief US Atlantic Fleet
  • Dr. Benjamin Lewis Salomon - WWII Army front line surgeon & Medal of Honor recipient (deceased)
  • Jeff Sessions - Senator from Alabama
  • William Sessions - FBI director
  • Sam Skinner - Secretary of Energy during the Bush administration and now CEO of Commonwealth Edison
  • Steven Spielberg - Movie producer, from Scottsdale, AZ, made a movie of his troop while getting Photography MB. Helped to design requirements for the cinematography MB.
  • Wallace Stegner - Writer and college professor, won Pulitzer Prize in 1972 for "Angle of Repose"
  • Percy Sutton - Attorney, Chairman of the Board of City Broadcasting Corp.
  • John Tesh - TV celebrity and pianist
  • Meldrim Thomson, Jr. - 3 term governor of New Hampshire (deceased)
  • Leo K. Thorsness - Vietnam War Air Force Colonel, POW, & Medal of Honor recipient
  • Sam Walton - Founder, Wal-Mart (deceased)
  • Togo West - Secretary of the Army and Secretary of Veterans Affairs
  • Edward O. Wilson - Pellegrino University Professor and curator of entomology at the Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University
  • Jay Zeamer Jr. - WWII Army Air Force pilot & Medal of Honor recipient (deceased)
  • Elmo R. Zumwalt, Jr. - Admiral, Chief of Naval Operations
TroopTrackHQ, LLC 51 E 3900 N Vineyard, UT 84059 support@trooptrack.com
TroopTrack TroopTrack is not affiliated with or endorsed by Boy Scouts of America, Girl Scouts of the USA, Baden Powell Service Association, Trail Life U.S.A., or Scouts Australia. Any usage of BSA, GSUSA, TLUSA, or SA terminology on this site is for informational purposes only and should not be interpreted as an endorsement of this product by any of these organizations. © 2008 - 2023 TroopTrackHQ, LLC. All rights reserved